THE SPIRIT OF SHYNESS

image

For quite a long while, I suffered from the spirit of shyness. Yes, it’s a spirit. This is so because anything that keeps you from being who you were created to be, is a suppressive spirit. It suppresses you so much that ordinarily, you start to feel it is the right thing to do until it becomes a habit.

Shyness is a psychological defect; so the next time you feel shy, know that there is a defect in your psychological well-being.

The above theory was my own cure for shyness. I mean, I couldn’t imagine myself being defective at such a length. I had to decide to give it up by telling myself that, “For God hath not given us (me) the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind” – II Timothy 1 vs 7 [emphasis by me]

My second motivator to giving up the spirit of shyness was a lady I had met at a Conference. She saw me drawing an artistic representation of one of the speakers, a foreigner. So, she urged and even had to beg me to gently walk up to him and show it to him, stating how emotional it would make him feel. I rebuffed and told of how shy I was.

Practically, she preached to me; telling me how my shyness is sure to keep me from making a headway in life. After an introspection of my life and aligning it with her sermon to me, I saw nothing but truth in all her words.

God bless you, Angela, wherever you may be. You were God sent.

Come off it! You weren’t created to be shy; situations and life occurrences made you to. Shyness is a form of self-esteem complex. You too can be liberated like I was. It all starts with your freedom to choose. I chose to be free from it. You too can. Decide today.

Louis Noel O.™

May 2016

4 comments

  1. I’ve been surfing on-line greater than three hours
    lately, but I never found any fascinating article like yours.
    It is pretty value enough for me. In my view,
    if all site owners and bloggers made good content material
    as you did, the net will be a lot more helpful
    than ever before.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

